O’Brien seeking top spot as Appleby sends out first QIPCO British Champions Day Runners

Aidan O’Brien will be looking to cement his position as the most successful trainer on QIPCO British Champions Day today with The Mediterranean, La Joconde, Snowfall, Mother Earth and Bolshoi Ballet aiming to add to the trainer’s eight wins at the fixture.

John Gosden has also sent out eight winners on Britain’s most valuable raceday, although his contenders this year will run under a training partnership with his son Thady.

In contrast, Charlie Appleby will be having his first runners on QIPCO British Champions Day. The Godolphin handler is among a clutch of trainers hoping to enjoy a breakthrough victory on the card.

Frankie Dettori dominates the leading rider standings with seven QIPCO British Champions Day wins and the jockey holds several leading chances this year on Stradivarius, Kinross, Palace Pier and Sunray Major.

Among the jockeys seeking a first success on the day are John Egan and his son David Egan. John Egan, 53, rides Invite in the G1 QIPCO British Champions Fillies & Mares Stakes, while his son David, 22, partners Vadream in the G1 QIPCO British Champions Sprint and leading fancy Mishriff in the G1 QIPCO Champion Stakes.

Full records for trainers with declared runners today can be accessed here.

Full records for jockeys with declared rides today can be accessed here.

Trainers seeking a first QIPCO British Champions Day win today:

Charlie Appleby (no previous runners)

Jim Bolger (5 previous runners)

George Boughey (no previous runners)

Karl Burke (7 previous runners)

Owen Burrows (7 previous runners)

Clive Cox (12 previous runners)

Tim Easterby (2 previous runners)

Brian Ellison (9 previous runners)

David Evans (no previous runners)

Charlie Fellowes (5 previous runners)

John* & Thady Gosden (no previous runners)

William Jarvis (no previous runners)

Eve Johnson Houghton (3 previous runners)

Mark Johnston (12 previous runners)

Sylvester Kirk (1 previous runner)

William Knight (1 previous runner)

Adrian McGuinness IRE (2 previous runners)

Tony Mullins IRE (no previous runners)

Joseph Murphy IRE (no previous runners)

Joseph O’Brien IRE (4 previous runners)

John Quinn (4 previous runners)

Cedric Rossi FR (no previous runners)

Kevin Ryan (9 previous runners)

William Stone (no previous runners)

Roger Teal (2 previous runners)

Ed Walker (7 previous runners) 

*John Gosden saddled 8 wins under his own name

Jockeys seeking a first QIPCO British Champions Day win today:

Mickael Barzalona (9 previous rides)

Charles Bishop (3 previous rides)

Gary Carroll (no previous rides)

Pat Cosgrave (6 previous rides)

Ben Curtis (2 previous rides)

Tom Eaves (4 previous rides)

David Egan (2 previous rides)

John Egan (2 previous rides)

Marco Ghiani (1 previous ride)

Shane Gray (no previous rides)

Jason Hart (1 previous ride)

Rob Hornby (3 previous rides)

Clifford Lee (1 previous ride)

Cian MacRedmond (no previous rides)

Kevin Manning (4 previous rides)

Paul Mulrennan (1 previous ride)

Dane O’Neill (3 previous rides)

David Probert (5 previous rides)

Ben Robinson (no previous rides)

Rossa Ryan (no previous rides)

Joseph Sheridan (no previous rides)

Kieran Shoemark (2 previous rides)

Jason Watson (4 previous rides)